2019-2020 Nordica Enforcer 104 Free

Ski: 2019-2020 Nordica Enforcer 104 Free, 186 cm

Available Lengths: 172, 179, 186, 191 cm

Blister’s Measured Tip-to-Tail Length: 184.5 cm

Blister’s Measured Weight per Ski: 2233 & 2255 grams

Stated Dimensions: 135-104-124 mm

Blister’s Measured Dimensions: 136.4-103.9-126.6 mm

Stated Sidecut Radius (186 cm): 18.5 meters

Measured Tip & Tail Splay (ski decambered): 66.5 mm / 44 mm

Measured Traditional Camber Underfoot: ~4 mm

Core: Poplar/Beech/Balsa + Titanal (2 layers) + Carbon & Fiberglass Laminate

Factory Recommended Mount Point: -8.85 cm from center; 83.4 cm from tail

Luke Koppa reviews the Nordica Enforcer 104 Free for Blister
Nordica Enforcer 104 Free
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on email
Review Navigation:  Specs //  First Look //  Bottom Line //  Rocker Pics

Intro

In case you haven’t heard, we’re big fans of Nordica’s Enforcer and Santa Ana series. And personally, I’m a massive fan of the Enforcer 110 — it combines the damp and stable, yet forgiving feel of the Enforcer 100 with a more playful shape and rocker profile, which perfectly suits my skiing style.

But while the Enforcer 110 is very versatile and carves incredibly well for its size, it is still a bit wide for firm-snow days. So, back on our GEAR:30 podcast a few months ago, I mentioned how happy I’d be if Nordica took the rocker profile and construction of the Enforcer 110 and made it into a slightly narrower ski.

Well, apparently they heard me. Or more realistically, they had a similar idea last year when they were designing their 2019-2020 line, because for next season, they’re releasing the Enforcer 104 Free — a ski that looks, feels, and seems like a narrower Enforcer 110. And you could say that I’m just a little bit excited about it.

But before we get to my personal ramblings about this ski, let’s talk about the whole 19/20 Enforcer and Santa Ana lineup.

2019-2020 Nordica Enforcer and Santa Ana Skis

Beyond the addition of the Enforcer 104 Free, Nordica is also adding an Enforcer 88 and Santa Ana 88. The 88’s are based on the Enforcer 93 and Santa Ana 93, both of which have dual-metal-laminate constructions and pretty flat tails. We have both the Enforcer 88 and Santa Ana 88 in hand, and will be posting more about them very soon.

To complement the narrower, flatter-tailed Enforcer 100, 93, and 88, Nordica has decided to switch up the naming scheme for their wider Enforcer skis, all of which have more twinned / rockered tails than the Enforcer 100, 93 and 88. The current Enforcer 110 and Enforcer Pro will be called the Enforcer 110 Free and Enforcer 115 Free, respectively. And then the brand-new Enforcer 104 Free will fill the narrower end of the “Free” lineup.

The Enforcer 88 and 104 Free share the same Poplar/Beech/Balsa wood cores and 2-layer titanal construction of the other Enforcers. But the new 88 and Enforcer 104 Free’s wood cores extend a bit further in the skis, reducing the amount of ABS used in the tip and tail spacers. This is intended to reduce the swing weights of the new skis.

None of the current Enforcer or Santa Ana skis are getting changed apart from graphics and names, which we are very happy about. They’re already really good, so thank you, Nordica, for not messing them up.

But while we encourage manufacturers to not change something that’s already good, we’re fully on board with them taking an already good ski and using it to design another model in the line. So let’s talk about the Enforcer 104 Free.

Shape / Rocker Profile

The Enforcer 104 Free looks really similar to the Enforcer 110. The Enforcer 104 Free has a very similar shape, with a bit of early taper at the tips and tails, but its tips and tails don’t taper to much of a point like skis like the Dynastar Legend X106.

The Enforcer 104 Free’s rocker profile is very similar to the Enforcer 110, with the Enforcer 104 Free having just slightly shallower rocker lines and slightly lower tip and tail splay. But the differences between the two skis are subtle, which I’m psyched about. The Enforcer 104 Free still has a pretty deep tip rocker line compared to most skis in its class, and it has a nearly twinned tail with a pretty deep tail rocker line.

Flex Pattern

Here’s how we’d characterize the flex pattern of the Enforcer 104 Free:

Tips: 7
Shovels: 7-8
In Front of Toe Piece: 8-9
Underfoot: 9.5
Behind the Heel Piece: 9-8.5
Tails: 8.5

Surprise! The Enforcer 104 Free’s flex pattern is very similar to the Enforcer 110’s. The Enforcer 104 Free’s tips are a touch stiffer, as are its tails. But the difference is subtle. Both skis have tips and shovels that are fairly easy to bend, but they have pretty stout midsections and fairly strong tails.

Compared to the Enforcer 100, the Enforcer 104 Free’s tips and tails are noticeably stiffer, with the tails being more noticeably stiffer than the tips.

One ski we’re very anxious to A/B against the Enforcer 104 Free is the Fischer Ranger 102 FR — another ski with a strong flex pattern and a slightly more playful-looking rocker profile. Compared the Ranger 102 FR, the Enforcer 104 Free’s shovels are a bit softer, and it’s tails are more noticeably softer.

Weight

The Enforcer 104 Free is not a particularly light ski. In fact, our pair of the 186 cm Enforcer 104 Free is coming in a little bit heavier than our pair of the 185 cm Enforcer 110.

And while the difference isn’t big, I’d much rather have the narrower, more firm-snow-oriented Enforcer 104 Free be a bit heavier than the more soft-snow-oriented Enforcer 110. Because I tend to use a ~104mm-underfoot ski in both soft and not-at-all-soft conditions, and a bit of heft can make a ski feel more composed and stable when conditions aren’t ideal.

For reference, here are a number of our measured weights (per ski in grams) for some notable skis. Keep in mind the length differences to try and keep things apples-to-apples.

1807 & 1840 Atomic Bent Chetler 100, 188 cm (18/19-19/20)
1848 & 1903 Line Sick Day 104, 186 cm (17/18-19/20)
1894 & 1980 Black Crows Daemon, 183.6 cm (17/18-19/20)
1998 & 2044 4FRNT MSP 99, 181 cm (17/18-18/19)
1923 & 1956 DPS Alchemist Wailer 106, 189 cm (17/18-18/19)
1950 & 1977 Blizzard Rustler 10, 188 cm (17/18-18/19)
1996 & 2012 Dynastar Legend X106, 188 cm (17/18-19/20)
2007 & 2029 Armada Invictus 99 Ti, 187 cm (18/19-19/20)
2013 & 2013 Moment Commander 108, 188 cm (18/19)
2022 & 2047 Faction Dictator 3.0, 186 cm (17/18-18/19)
2026 & 2056 Black Diamond Boundary Pro 107, 184 cm (17/18-19/20)
2030 & 2039 Rossignol Soul 7 HD, 188 cm (17/18-19/20)
2036 & 2064 Salomon QST 106, 188 cm (18/19)
2049 & 2065 Volkl Mantra M5, 177 cm (18/19-19/20)
2046 & 2120 Black Crows Corvus, 188 cm (18/19-19/20)
2050 & 2080 ON3P Wrenegade 96, 184 cm (18/19)
2053 & 2057 Atomic Vantage 97 Ti, 188 cm (18/19-19/20)
2101 & 2104 Fischer Ranger 102 FR, 184 cm (18/19-19/20)
2114 & 2133 Nordica Enforcer 93, 185 cm (16/17-19/20)
2115 & 2149 J Skis Masterblaster, 181 cm (16/17-18/19)
2124 & 2137 Blizzard Bonafide, 180 cm (17/18-19/20)
2131 & 2189 Nordica Enforcer 100, 185 cm (15/16-19/20)
2165 & 2211 K2 Mindbender 108Ti, 186 cm (19/20)
2182 & 2218 Nordica Enforcer 110, 185 cm (17/18-19/20)
2233 & 2255 Nordica Enforcer 104 Free, 186 cm (19/20)
2250 & 2307 Argent Badger, 184 cm (19/20)
2283 & 2290 ON3P Wrenegade 108, 189 cm (18/19)
2311 & 2342 K2 Mindbender 99Ti, 184 cm (19/20)
2318 & 2341 J Skis The Metal, 186 cm (16/17-18/19)
2344 & 2367 J Skis Masterblaster, 187 cm (16/17-18/19)
2376 & 2393 Blizzard Cochise, 185 cm (15/16-19/20)

Some Questions / Things We’re Curious about

(1) The Enforcer 104 Free and Enforcer 110 are very similar. So where will they differ the most on snow, and who should pick one over the other?

(2) Like the Enforcer 110, the Enforcer 104 Free has a metal-laminate construction but combines that with pretty deep rocker lines and a nearly twinned tail. So how playful and / or stable will it feel?

(3) How much better will the Enforcer 104 Free be on firm snow compared to the Enforcer 110? And how much worse will the Enforcer 104 Free be in deep snow?

(4) How will the Enforcer 104 Free compare to the quite stable, but also fairly playful Fischer Ranger 102 FR?

Bottom Line (For Now)

I’m going to shut up now, because I really just want to get these skis mounted and on snow. But the summary of this First Look is that it seems as though Nordica recognized that they’ve been doing something right with their Enforcer series, and figured they should add another — and potentially very versatile — ski to the range. I’m extremely excited to ski the new Enforcer 104 Free, so stay tuned for updates.

Flash Review

Blister Members can now check out our Flash Review of the Enforcer 104 Free for our initial impressions. Become a Blister member now to check out this and all of our Flash Reviews, plus get exclusive deals and discounts on skis, and personalized gear recommendations from us.

Share this post:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on email

Rocker Pics:

Full Profile
Tip Profile
Tail Profile
Top Sheet
Base

10 comments on “2019-2020 Nordica Enforcer 104 Free”

  1. Tom – Perhaps you have already, but I’d give the 115/Pro a ski before you spend too much time wishing for a non-FR 100. I say this as someone who has thought the same thing myself – that a “regular” Enforcer 110ish would be amazing.

    The “free” series is legit. I think the flex pattern of the 104 is more like the 93 than the 100. The ski handles pow really really well and is more playful in soft conditions than the 100 but, like the 100, is super stable and handles speed and harder conditions like a Nordica with two sheets of metal not your typical twin tip.

  2. Thanks, TJ. All that makes sense, except it’s nearly — or completely — impossible for me to demo an Enforcer Pro, and I’ve pretty much hated every ski I’ve owned with significant tail rocker.

    Old habits die hard, I guess!

  3. Thanks for the post. Is the 104 Free the love child of the Enforcer 100 and the Soul Rider ? How do they compare?

    Thanks

    CJ

    • Not really. All the Enforcers are significantly stiffer than the Soul Riders and are much less playful. The Enforcer 104 Free is essentially a narrower Enforcer 110, or a wider Enforcer 100 with more tail rocker and a stiffer tail.

  4. Cannot wait to read more about this ski. My daily driver is an Enforcer 93 and been eyeing a ski in this class, so the 104 Free could be the ticket! I’ll take out my 93 in pretty much anything under double digits so I’m wondering how the 104 does in the 10-20 inch range. I feel that the 93 punches above its weight in deeper snow and hoping the 104 does the same. I’ve also read elsewhere that the 104 “feels like an Enforcer” when you ski it and since I love my 93, I’m psyched if the 104 “feels like an Enforcer” that I can take out on deeper days when the 93 might be overmatched.

  5. Hey Blister,

    I’m really intrigued with these skis. How you compare these skis to more popular 104-108mm waist width skis such as the Black Crows Atris or the Rossignol Soul 7. How would you rank these 3 in the following categories? 1. Floatation 2. Carving 3. Maneuverability 4. Overall Ease of Use

    I’m from the Midwest, so we don’t get to demo a lot of the smaller skis brands such ON3P, RMU or even Line. So, I’m using these skis as a reference point since I’m familiar with both of them.

    I currently ski the Enforcer 110 185cm of powder days and I find it really useful for low angle tree skiing, off-trail and moguls. But I can overpower it it on firmer groomers and steeper off-trail conditions. I’m 6’0″ 200 lbs. 43 years old type 3 skier. Do you think the Enforcer 104 significantly has more backbone than the Enforcer 110? Is there much of a performance overlap with these skis? Is the 186cm version suited for bigger guys like me?

    Thanks!

  6. I’d be interested to hear some comparisons to the J Skis Metal. They sound similar in terms of being fairly heavy but with a forgiving shape.

Leave a Comment